Workflow: Using AnimationLoader, dynamic tilesets

As usual, Rex has done it again. Or rather, he’d already done it.

The look development of the game is what I’ve always been concerned about. I’m creating tiles, binning them, replacing them. The tile management in Tiled is a bit too simple for my needs.

First came the issue of volatile tile IDs. Then the inability of re-arranging the tiles. So what I’ve done now is to offload all the actual organisation of data to 3d and C2 workflows. What this means is that I no longer have to use tile IDs to reference.

This is an outline of what I’m thinking of designing (and have implemented it for the most part at the end).

Renders

3d renders, or wherever the tile renders may come from are rendered directly to the C2 folder’s /Files directory. They have the following name convention.

_<tileset_name>_<tileset_id>.png

This collapses the tilset name and tile id into one name. These are then put into a flat hierarchy in the /Files directory.

C2 animation name

Back in C2, I create a single tile sprite. The content of this sprite can be empty because the idea here is that the image will be dynamically loaded in.

This is the gtiles sprite (GBoard tiles), and contains (I think) all of the tilesets used in the game. Now the tilesets are stored in C2’s animation blocks. So in the gtiles sprite, I create all the tileset names that should exist:

proto_gnd
proto_walls
proto_canal
..etc

This refers to the naming convention of the .png described above.

C2 animation frames

After the animation blocks/tilesets have been created, then I note down how many frames each tileset should have. I create the exact number of frames for them though the frames are blank. If I don’t I will get errors in the Browser console, but it won’t stop the execution of the game.

AnimationLoader

Rex’s AnimationLoader handles the loading of the renders in the /Files folder by going through every animation block in the gtiles sprite, and then through every frame that it has. I’ve written events that concats it properly, adds the underscores to conform with the convention, and it loads the images into those frames.

Tiled

This is the important bit.

In Tiled, when I load in the tiles into the tileset, I must reference the png files in the /Files folder, because when the TMX is read, the image source from the tile is also read. This image source TMX attribute is the string that is parsed in order to determine which tileset this belongs to, and what the tile ID is. So, in effect, by the naming convention alone, regardless of which tileset the tiles belong to in Tiled, the fact that the file contains the tileset and id, that’s enough to make a connection to C2. In this way, it doesn’t matter how I arrange my tiles in Tiled because I only use the name of the png for the correspondence.

Collisions

Collisions are often defined in the C2 image editor, and the information is stored in the caproj. However, when dynamically loading sprites, the corresponding collisions must also be dynamically loaded.

I’m currently implementing a solution to this which involves writing out .col files (collision files) that is partnered with their respective images. This much in the same vein as .imagepoint files.

Collision polygons are defined in Photoshop using paths. A ‘Work Path’ must be created, and a jsx to save that path is run. This outputs a .col file alongside the .png file that is being edited.

Back in C2, I’m currently modifying Rex’s AnimationLoader to take in this .col file implicitly, by reading the file, and then injecting the information directly into the poly_pnts array of the Sprite object.

 

Leave a Reply

