.. and it will stay as a hobby.

(Part 2 of the first rambling, I guess.)

I’ve been making the art for the environment lately. It’s been fun, but I sometimes wonder when the fun will end. Sometimes the inspiration peters away and I’m left trying to find out what I’m going to do next. It’s never a nice feeling, the gradual dissipation of inspiration, the inevitable melancholy.

But I do what I can. And I have a set of concepts that I have drawn, that I’m determined, for better or worse (meaning better or worse art), to get done. The total will be 5 assets. Then I will draw up some more, and do the cycle again.

Of course, the way I say it now, it doesn’t sound much fun. But assuredly, it is. However, I know that there are times when the fun part diminishes, but one must go on. And while I’m feeling  pretty good right now, I know that it will eventually go away. But it comes back, for sure, but sometimes I don’t find myself taking the opportunity to get back on to it again.


One shouldn’t take this thing too seriously. Surely enough, if I felt that making a game was as bad as doing particle simulations, I would seriously question why I’m doing it. I always thought building a game was like playing Lego, only that you can build the nature of the world and building conversations, and not just its physical manifestations.

C3 was announced the other day, which was greeted predominantly by the dominant folksies with jeers and boos. These are indie devs, and hobbyists alike not thrilled with either their pricing structure, or their browser-based implementation of the Editor.

For myself, I had been eagerly awaiting C3’s announcement. I was not particularly impressed with either the pricing structure, nor the browser app, but I was more concerned with the limitation brought on upon the browser implementation: folder-based projects were not supported. Originally, what really interested me in C3 was its promised Editor SDK which allowed users to create Editor tools, presumably to control more of the objects and workflows better. I always saw C2’s an unsophisticated editor, so this SDK surely piqued my interest. Unfortunately, even if the trickle of news eventually reveal this SDK, folder-based projects are essential for me. I am a newbie in C2, but not quite a newbie in coding and production workflows, and this is how I choose to work because all my production experience is geared towards accessing discrete assets from multiple application in my system, eg modifying source files directly from custom tools, or modifying source images from Photoshop. This is surely part of the fun I have in making games.

So, in short, until they overcome that fundamental limitation of ‘single-file projects’ by releasing desktop builds, C3 is a technical no-go.

In the Scirra forums you hear experienced indies and hobbyists alongside straight-up newbies, and each one has their own problem with it. But I am a hobbyist, for sure, and I don’t hope to take this so seriously that I will have a ranting fit just because I don’t agree with the developers vision for his product. If I was really serious, I could take up a more serious engine. But I’m not that serious. At the end of the day, after I complete this game, if i find that I’m getting more involved with it, perhaps I’d be more inclined to write code using Corona SDK, or even Phaser, or perhaps get back to Unity again. C2 provides a very nice and easy method of making games and that was the allure. But I’m not adverse to complication.

I won’t deny it, however: I will feel a sense of loss if C3 is still a no-go by the time I have to make a decision.


There is a kind of seriousness needed to be able to finish something. With Citizen 2401, I need a bit of that seriousness. But it’s not a seriousness connected to the platform I’m using, since I know that I can achieve anything with any platform; it’s just a matter of nutting it out. And nutting it out is something I do every day anyway.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

